Meg and Ben // Waterford, Vermont

A Rustic and Romantic Wedding at Blissful Dragon Farm // June 15th, 2019

When I was contacted by Meg’s mom, Maya, it was immediately evident that this was a wedding for me. Meg & Ben journeyed all the way from Maine to Waterford, Vermont, where they said their vows in front of friends and family on Maya’s charming farm. Blissful Dragon Farm features several beautiful and unique options that us photographers usually only dream of… an eighty foot zen garden labyrinth, a stone henge and even a marvelous gazebo built by Meg & Ben themselves located on the cutest of ponds! Everything was picture perfect, Maya even put in the “order for perfect weather” and Mother Nature delivered!

There is more to this love story but I have to warn you, some “happily ever afters” are tainted with scars that are worn painfully proud. My initial response to Maya was that I was available and absolutely wanted to be a part of Meg & Ben’s wedding. What followed rocked me to my inner core and gave me an immediate and heartfelt connection that I will always cherish.

Maya’s email started with a quick run down, “My daughters(Meg & Lindsay) and I had a professional wedding photography business in Maine from 2003 through 2012.” This already was slightly terrifying to me but also very exciting, what a wonderful opportunity I was presented with to work with people who know my art!

 “2012 was a tough year for our family.”

“Lindsay was married, three months after her wedding, she was diagnosed with leukemia and we lost her three months later.” 

Meg and Ben chose to use Lindsay’s center pieces from her wedding

There you have it folks, a doozy. Weddings are PACKED with emotions already, this wedding was going to be laced with mixed emotions and I had doubts that there was any possibility I could do this family justice. We set up our initial meeting and I knew I was exactly where I was meant to be, with people I was destined to meet. Meg & Ben are incredible people and it was an absolute honor to capture their wedding day with signs of Meg’s sister beautifully intertwined into their joining. Meg & Ben danced the night away together as they bid farewell to engaged life and transitioned perfectly into a unit, together forever.

Meet the Dream Team that made Meg & Ben’s day come to reality! Also, super big shoutout to John Christman Construction in St. Johnsbury, VT. Tight timelines were pushed to the brink but the entire crew worked extremely hard to bring the run down barn back to life and into something absolutely incredible.

Leave a comment